24 Life Lessons I Wish I Learned Earlier

Jack Ross
14 min readOct 7, 2022

Subscribe to my weekly newsletter here! ✍️✉️

I turned 24 years old a few days ago and I wanted to share a few quick lessons that I really wish I would’ve learned earlier in my life.

1. We live many lives, we die many deaths.

We go through lots of stages in life from childhood, going to school, college, entering the workforce, old age. And recently, it’s been helpful for me to think about these stages as separate, individual lives.

I am not the same person that I was when I was 18. The childlike wonder, lack of true responsibility, and seemingly endless possibilities of what my life would look like at 24 are gone — and it genuinely feels like that part of myself is dead.

We learn, grow, and fundamentally change throughout these stages of life and that’s okay. But it also lets you see how important it is to really take advantage of every stage of life.

I missed having a traditional college experience. And while I think this was still the right choice for me, I can’t go back to being 18 and leaving home for the first time to make friends, party, and “discover myself”. But part of me wishes that I would’ve done these things when this stage of my life was still active.

This also works with time going in the opposite direction. I’m probably not going to be able to climb mountains, land kickflips, and go out partying until 2 in the morning when I’m 65 years old. You’ve…

--

--

Jack Ross

Data Engineer • YouTuber • Digital Nomad. Leveraging the internet to create a life with more freedom. 💻✍️🎥 Subscribe: www.TheJailbreak.io